Jazoon 1st Impressions

Just got back from 2 days in Zurich at Jazoon.  My first time at this conference though I’d heard good things about it.  Two talks, or rather one talk and one demo/hack session. The talk – ‘DevOps and the dark side – 10 ways to convince your team DevOps is a force for good’  was well received.  Place was packed with people standing at the back (always a good sign!) The demo/hack was meant to be 1 hour  of live demos about Cloud Foundry and Bluemix  followed by 1 hr of hacking.  Turned out due to last minute room rearrangement and wifi worse than JavaOne (really) to be 1 hour of liveish demos only (good job I had screen captures just-in-case’) Putting the wifi aside  ( which the Jazoon team worked hard to address quickly) it was a great conference.  Some good speakers and good talks. My top 2 favourites were Mario Fusco’s Laziness, currying, trampolines …  about functional support in Java 8  and IBM’s Florian Georg’s talk about d3.js Also – thanks to the unnamed lady who kindly helped me get taxis when I needed them 🙂

update: Slides here

About spoole167

I'm DevOps practitioner (whatever that means), a long time Java developer and Open Source advocate. I speak and present at conferences whenever I have something to say on technical and software engineering topics. I work for IBM but this blog is all my own work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jazoon 1st Impressions

  1. Thomas says:

    I hear the Star Wars references were particularly well received 😉 (https://www.flickr.com/photos/39913948@N08/15412915588/in/set-72157648492653897). Sorry again for putting the workshop up so late.

Leave a Reply

