Devoxx US March 2017

I can’t praise this conference enough for having one of the largest group of amazing speakers I’ve seen in a long, long time.  The technical content was high, the audience  not so much. Only 700 ish attendees.  That’s still pretty good for a first time conference but I was still surprised.  I was expecting more like 2000.  The net effect was that the ratio of speakers to attendees meant that most talks had small numbers of people listening.  It was more unusual than disruptive since the key element – the recording of the talks – is not affected by numbers 🙂

I did two talks .  One with Stuart Marks of Oracle called TEN SIMPLE RULES FOR WRITING GREAT TESTCASES  for which the slides are here   This talk was fun to present and fun to create. Probably had more fun talking to Stuart about the content to be honest.  We even talked about just recording our zoom sessions and playing them 🙂

Second talk was a BOF THE RISE OF THE MACHINE – IS SKYNET CLOSER THAN EVER?  Where I explored the realities of AI and Robotics.  I talked about ‘state-of-the-art’ and then outlined how I’d tried (with some friends) to create our own little robot which could take verbal commands and deliver a drink to an individual.  The point being that AI is not magic but is still hard and more of an art than a science.    No slides yet as they have embedded video are are > 200MB. Do need to fix that.  Good response from the audience (“most interesting talk I’ve seen so far’)   and I had fun putting it together.

Reminder – GO TO DEVOXX US in 2018 – it will be AWSUM 

 

About spoole167

I'm DevOps practitioner (whatever that means), a long time Java developer and Open Source advocate. I speak and present at conferences whenever I have something to say on technical and software engineering topics. I work for IBM but this blog is all my own work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

